Logo Top Banner
slogan Alaska Timeline Alaska Kids About
Peer Work
Family & Community
History & Culture
Digital Archives
Narrative & Healing
Reading & Writing
Reading Out Loud

Love of Reading

Inspiring Readers

Featured Writers

Creative Contests

Postcard Contest

Creative Writing Contest

Pencils Full of Stars

Letters About Literature

Poetry Out Loud

Pass The Word

Libraries & Booksellers
Teaching & Learning
Contact Us

  Search Litsite Alaska
Find us on Facebook

reading and writing

Home  >  Reading and Writing  >  Creative Contests  >  Creative Writing Contest
20th Annual Creative Writing Contest, 2001

Winner: Toby Sullivan, Kodiak, "Leaving Land Behind "

Judges: George Bryson, Kathleen McCoy, Ronald Spatz

Editor's Choice

Winner: Merrick Bochart, Haines, "A Crazy Lady I Thought I Knew "

Open to the Public


Winner: Antara Brewer, Anchorage, "The Clerk"

Honorable Mentions: Michelle Mitton, Anchorage, "The Fields"; Alyson Williams, Anchorage, "Repeat"; Sarah Wolfe, Unalaska, "The Taste of Winter"; Betty Jo Goddard, Anchor Point, "Peacemaker"; Eric Thompson, Anchorage, "Wolverine Whiskey"

Judges: Cynthia Ritchie, Kathleen McCoy, Robert Clark, Mark Dudick


Winner: Susanna Mishler, Anchorage, "Caribou"

Honorable Mentions: Joe Koon, Bethel, "Pastoral"; Mary Langham, Talkeetna, "These are the Men"; Buffy McKay, Anchorage, "The Vanishing Point"; Ethan Fode, Anchorage, "Dawson"

Judges: Peter Porco, Emil Churchin, Sarah Kirk, Jim Kentch, Jackie Carr


Winner: Hai On, Anchorage, "Helicopters"

Honorable Mentions: JoAnn Ross Cunningham, Haines, "Cluck"; Mary Lou R. Vanderburg, Valdez, "In the Crucible of Hard Times"; Porshaa Zorana Jones, Anchorage, "Call Me Black"

Judges: David Hulen, Deb McKinney, Pat Dougherty, Mike Doogan, Mike Dunham



Winner: Amy Meissner, Anchorage, "Canal"

Honorable Mentions: Nan Hallock, Anchorage, "Across the Table"; Chris Kennedy, Anchorage, "A Celebration"; William Schachtel, Anchorage, "The Tornado"

Judges: Doug O'Harra, Joann Congdon


Winner: Heather Villars, Anchorage, "Fearing Cancer (a poem in four parts)"

Honorable Mentions: Heather Villars, Anchorage, "To My Mother: A Love Poem"; Nicholas Rinard, Anchorage, "He was a Great One"

Judges: Susan Morgan, Joann Townsend


Winner: Toby Sullivan, Kodiak, "Leaving Land Behind"

Honorable Mention: Michelle O'Bleness, Anchorage, "Untitled"

Judges: Molly Brown, Tom Mitchell

Grades 10-12


Winner: Nitesh Srivastava, Eagle River, "The Adventures of the Atomic Kung Fu Master"

Honorable Mentions: Erica Rothman, Anchorage, "Dime"; Dylan Smith, Homer, "Elysium"; Sarah Bowerman, Bethel, "Out of the Rabbit Hole"; Kaitlyn Williamson, Anchorage, "Richard"; Rachel Pope, Wasilla, "Shy Girl"

Judges: Rose Cox, Kathleen Macknicki, Frank Gerjevic


Winner: Merrick Bochart, Haines, "A Crazy Lady I Thought I Knew"

Honorable Mentions: Clare Baldwin, Wasilla, "Arrival"; Matthew Iverson, Anchorage, "Old Friends"; JoAnne Pootoogooluk, Shishmaref, "The Whistle Blew"; Sara King, Chugiak, "Untitled"

Judges: Matt Teatmeier, Paula McCarron, Zaz Hollander, Peter Porco, Dave Manning


Winner: Alissa Jocelyn Frye, Homer, "Life Stories"

Honorable Mentions: Moira Sullivan, Anchorage, "Chaos at Midnight"; Rita Glasionov, Anchorage, "Untitled"

Judges: Rosanne Pagano, Ronald Spatz

Grades 7-9


Winner: Danielle Rodgers, Haines ,"The Peculiar Disappearance of the Pocket-Watch"

Honorable Mentions: Mischa Carlson, Anchorage, "Recreation"; Amanda Loshbaugh, Soldotna, "M & M Death Tournament"; Matt Iveson-Dupre, Wasilla, "The Chosen"; Kelly J. Huff, Haines, "The Saga of Barbara Ann"; Kaitlin Vadla, Ninilchik, "A New Dawn"

Judges: MariAnn Moore, Elizabeth Manning, Jane Szabo, Jim Macknicki


Winner: Drew Fossman, Haines, "The Perfect Poem"

Honorable Mentions: Naoko Proctor-Fajen, Anchorage, "Untitled #2"; Naoko Proctor-Fajen, Anchorage, "Garfield St."; Iris Kemp, Haines, "The Teacher"

Judges: Pat Kennish, Sherri Douglas, Vicki Radonich


Winner: Hailey Heinz, Eagle River, "Nature's Teachings"

Honorable Mentions: Hailey Heinz, Eagle River, "How I Conquered my 'Artistic Defect' and So Much More"; Larissa Kozisek, "For the Birds"

Judges: Lisa Carveth, Elizabeth Strode

Grades 4-6


Winner: Erin West, Anchorage, "The Secret of the Fig Tree"

Honorable Mentions: Teddy Fernau, Petersburg, "Bad Day?"; Patrick Johnson, Anchorage, "Platy the Platypus"; Jessica Barry, Anchorage, "On My Own"; Hillary Walker, Anchorage, "Untitled"; Kathlena Kowchee, White Mountain, "The Untold Story"

Judges: Andrea Story, Jeff Silverman, Kathy Johnson, Bob Johnson, Tara Wreyford, Domonique Calhoun


Winner: Erin West, Anchorage, "Into the Chamber 'Til Doomsday"

Honorable Mentions: Andrea Lucille Deuster, Wasilla, "Pirate Days"; Christina Knapp, Anchorage, "Life"; Jessica Radford, Homer, "Remember"; Chantel Lucas, Anchorage,"Suicide"; Pojkia Moua, Anchorage, "Changing"

Judges: Melissa Pringle, Caroline Grabowski


Winner: Emily Kizzia, Homer, "Behind Her 100%"

Honorable Mentions: Meghan Bill, Palmer, "Magic in the Mist"; Ashley Stoddard, Elmendorf AFB, "Holes in the Floor of Heaven"; Alice Carter, Anchorage, "Pickles"; Laura Coulson, Anchorage, "My Woods"

Judges: Mille Spezialy, Kim Holm, Jola Morris, Cheryl Phares, Loretta Braden, Jan O'Meara, Elizabeth Hunter

Grades 3 and Under


Winner: Spencer Bailly, Anchorage, "The Thirty-five Pound Goldfish"

Honorable Mentions: Sarah Merly, Anchorage, "The Lovely Purple Flower"; McKenzie Kruse Smedley, Anchorage, "Sqirmawella"; Tori Best, Anchorage, "The Wishing Star"; Adam Rose-Levy, Anchorage, "The Cemetery"

Judges: Benita Washburn, Rachel Rodriguez, Walter Patterson, Laurie Amidon


Winner: Paige Hinton, Eagle River, "The Wind"

Honorable Mentions: Ian Knapp, Anchorage, "Ian's Moon"; Wade Banta, Anchorage, "Winter Is..."; Scott Michael Munter, Anchorage, "In the Fall at Evening"; Rachael Blurton, Wasilla, "The Magical Dream"; Andrea Villasenor, Anchorage, "Fall"; Mara Crossett, Eagle River, "Everything"; Astrid Watsjold, Anchorage, "As I Walk with You"

Judges: Jola Morris, Kim Holm, Ronald Spatz


Winner: Sarah Rector, Kenai, "My Home Place"

Honorable Mentions: Taylon Shea Nelson, Kotzebue, "Untitled"; Brian Stegall, Anchorage "Somebody I Love"; Heaven Potter, Anchorage, "Fishing with my Family"; Nickelle Raschick, Sitka, "My Pet Annie"; Holly Haney, Palmer, "A Cat Tale"

Judges: Liz Forrer, Pam Crave

  Contact Us       LitSite Alaska, Copyright © 2000 - 2023. All rights reserved. UAA / University of Alaska Anchorage.
University of Alaska Anchorage