Logo Top Banner
slogan Alaska Timeline Alaska Kids About
Peer Work
Family & Community
History & Culture
Digital Archives
Narrative & Healing
Reading & Writing
Reading Out Loud

Love of Reading

Inspiring Readers

Featured Writers

Creative Contests

Postcard Contest

Creative Writing Contest

Pencils Full of Stars

Letters About Literature

Poetry Out Loud

Pass The Word

Libraries & Booksellers
Teaching & Learning
Contact Us

  Search Litsite Alaska
Find us on Facebook

reading and writing

Home  >  Reading and Writing  >  Creative Contests  >  Creative Writing Contest
17th Annual Creative Writing Contest, 1998
Page 1 of 2   Next ยป

Winner: Rebecca Nations , Palmer, Colony Middle School, "The Courier ."

Editor's Choice

Winner: Dawn Baumann Brunke, Wasilla, "Before She Was the Queen of Syrup ."

Open to the Public


Winner: Dawn Baumann Brunke, Wasilla, "Before She Was the Queen of Syrup."

Honorable Mention: William Blanchard, Anchorage, "Last Bequest"; Andrew Wills, Homer, "To the Sea"; Robert Raven, Anchorage, "The Laughter of Water"; Joyce Bamberger, Anchorage, "The Minyan"; Barbara Brown, Anchorage, "More or Less"; Marie McCarty, Fritz Creek, "108 Chelsea."

Judges: Richard Chiappone, Joann Congdon, Anne Doubesant, Nancy Lord.


Winner: David McElroy, Anchorage, "Palimpsest."

Honorable Mention: Deborah Tobola, Anchorage, "On leaping empty-handed into the void"; Tracy Philpot, Seldovia, "for tracy"; Augie Kochuten, Unalaska, "Aleutian Lullaby"; LaVon Bridges, Anchorage, "The Icon."

Judges: Scott Anderson, Erin Dovichin, Arlitia Jones, Tom Sexton.


Winner: Andromeda Romano-Lax, Anchorage, "Learning to See Birds."

Honorable Mention: Lucy Collins, Anchorage, "The Advisability of Having an Older Brother -- a Memoir"; Jeff Fair, Anchorage, "Finding Spirit"; Linda Hoover, Anchorage, "The price of a meal"; Betty Goddard, Anchor Point, "Taking Turns."

Judges: Sandi Gerjevic, Doug O'Harra, Natalie Phillips



Winner: Stacy Lynn Smith, Anchorage (UAA), "Dust Mites."

Honorable Mention: Stacy Lynn Smith, Anchorage (UAA), "Shirts, Not People."

Judges: Sarah Birdsall, Doug O'Harra.


Winner: Karen Kavana, Anchorage (UAA), "Texas Two-Step."

Honorable Mention: Susan Gardner Dillon, Homer (UAA), "Breaking Bones, Breaking Bread"; Susan Alexander Derrera, Anchorage (UAA), "The 4-Year Old Studies Mummies"; Jeannie Bench, Anchorage (UAA), "A Theory for Middle Age"; Matthew Oliphant, Anchorage (Alaska Pacific University), "Untitled"; Karen Arai, Anchorage (UAA), "Retrospect to North York, Toronto, circa 1936."

Judges: Ann Chandonnet, Sheila Nickerson.


Winner: Marti Bradley, Anchorage (Wayland Baptist College), "Autumn in Alaska."

Honorable Mention: Victoria Kondor, Anchorage (UAA), "Aunt Mary"; Jeanna Hawkins, Palmer (UAA), "The Honeymoon with Only One Murder"; Sunny Remmy, Anchorage (UAA), "Checking out the Boys."

Judges: Rosemary Shinohara, David Hulen.

High School (10-12)


Winner: James Kracker, Palmer (Palmer High School), "Arioch."

Honorable Mention: Meghan Planchon, Anchorage (Steller), "Recently."

Judges: Robert Clark, Donna Freedman, Lin Hampson, Tara Wreyford.


Winner: Bryan Smith, Anchorage (Service High School), "Humble, Grey Houses."

Honorable Mention: Dan Reese, Anchorage (Steller Alternative School), "Mothers, lie to your children"; Hannah Flor, Petersburg (Petersburg High School), "Water Heart (For Pablo Neruda)"; Rim-Jae Lee, Anchorage (East High School), "Landscape"; Nancy Slagle, Two Rivers (North Pole High School), "Fleeting Glory"; Sheila Vent, Huslia (Jimmy Huntington School), "Graduation Day."

Judges: Michael Catoggio, Sandy Harper, Martin Palmer.


Winner: Ellie Swanson, Anchorage (Steller Alternative School), "New Kid."

Honorable Mention: David Woods II, Anchorage (East High School), "Mountain View"; Amanda Denn, Anchorage (East High School), "Death of a Cat."

Judges: Mark Dudick, Tom Mitchell, Kim Severson.

Junior High (7-9)


Winner: Becca Nations, Palmer (Colony Middle School), "The Courier."

Honorable Mention: Jessica Wright, Anchorage (Mears Middle School), "Edibility"; Allison Duncan, Anchorage (Goldenview Middle School), "The Lavender Pearl Necklace"; Brandon McElroy, Anchorage (Goldenview Middle School), "Walking Home"; Andrea Wilson, Anchorage (Goldenview Middle School), "The Seventh Year."

Judges: Lynn Childs, Kaylene Johnson, Connie Jones, Jennifer Summers.


Winner: Clare Baldwin, Palmer (Colony High School), "Italian Villas."

Honorable Mention: Melissa McNulty, Trapper Creek (Su Valley Jr./Sr. High School), "Trapped"; Donna Freeman, Anchorage (Polaris K-12 School), "My Room"; Elizabeth Bolling, Anchorage (Mears Middle School), "Nature"; Kara Van Kooten, Anchorage (Grace Christian School), "Mirrors Reflect."

Judges: Shari Douglas, Patricia Kennish, Vicki Radonich.


Winner: Crystal Edwards, Anchorage (Clark Middle School), "Foster Care."

Honorable Mention: Kimberly Benson, Kenai (Kenai Central High School), "Things to Do"; Kalynn Johnson, Anchorage (Clark Middle School), "Violence Doesn't Solve Anything"; Emily Remillard, Eagle River (Homeschool), "A Day in Seward"; Sarah Campen, Sitka (Blatchley Middle School), "Indian River"; Claire Knudsen-Latta, Anchorage (Central Middle School), "Turning the Year."

Judges: Larry Campbell, Lisa Demer, Don Hunter, Frank Gerjevic.

Elementary (4-6)


Winner: Anna Barnwell, Anchorage (Bowman Elementary School), "A Square in the Quilt."

Honorable Mentions: Ellen Bauer, Homer (Homer Charter School), "The Other Way to Listen"; Miranda Cortez, Anchorage (Chinook Elementary School), "A Grain of Sand"; Laura Steffens, Anchorage (Northern Lights ABC School), "Baseball"; Alexa Koenings, Juneau (Floyd Dryden Middle School), "The Gonda Diamond."

Judges: Cathy Carpenter, Mike Dunham, Susan Morgan, Peter Porco.


Winner: Matthew N.K. Smith, Chugiak (Eagle River Elementary School), "Chess."

Honorable Mention: Susannah Ross, Anchorage (St. Elizabeth Ann Seton School), "Lost City"; Joan Tasker, Anchorage (Sand Lake Elementary School), "Waves"; Laura Steffens, Anchorage (Northern Lights ABC School), "Fourth of July."

Judges: Eric Burkett, Pamela Dunlap-Shohl, Jola Morris, Sonya Senkowsky.


Winner: Brianne Purcella, Anchorage (Rabbit Creek Elementary), "Regata, My Story."

Honorable Mention: Fernando McKelvey-Page, Talkeetna (Talkeetna Elementary School), "Running Away from Home."

Judges: Tom Bell, Helen Jung.

Elementary K-3


Winner: Andrew Lyle, Anchorage (College Gate Elementary), "Angels' Pride."

Honorable Mentions: Margo Reeve Werner, Anchorage (Polaris K-12 School), "Mumphis"; Dayna Butcher, Anchorage (Polaris K-12 School), "Plant and Water."

Judges: Erik Hill, Linda Sievers, Elsie Wertz.


Winner: Maggie Rose McGuire, Anchorage (Turnagain Elementary School), "Autumn."

Honorable Mention: Samantha Williams, Sitka (Verstovia Elementary School), "Waiting"; Caleb Reed, Anchorage (Gladys Wood Elementary School), "My Sister"; Emily Cohn, Anchorage (Chugach Elementary School), "The Train"; Lauren Bell, Homer (West Homer Elementary School), "Hopelessness."

Judges: Carol Ausdahl, Meghan Pembleton, Danielle Stanton.


Winner: Benjamin Landis, Barrow (Ipalook Elementary School), "Time."

Honorable Mention: Katelyn Duncan, Anchorage (Rogers Park Elementary School), "My Summer Vacation of 1997"; James Musich, Nome (Nome Adventist School), "Half and Half."

Judges: Martha Feenstra, Lisa Scagliotti.

Grand Prize Judges: George Bryson, Linda McCarriston, Kathleen McCoy, Ron Spatz.

Next page:   Becca Nations - 1998 Grand Prize Winner Pages:  1 2 

  Contact Us       LitSite Alaska, Copyright © 2000 - 2024. All rights reserved. UAA / University of Alaska Anchorage.
University of Alaska Anchorage