Logo Top Banner
slogan Alaska Timeline Alaska Kids About
Peer Work
Family & Community
History & Culture
Digital Archives
Land Sea Air

People of the North

Native Peoples

Native Lives and Traditions

Explorers and Adventurers

Heroes and Scoundrels



Community Life



Narrative & Healing
Reading & Writing
Libraries & Booksellers
Teaching & Learning
Contact Us

  Search Litsite Alaska
Find us on Facebook

Digital Archives

Home  >  Digital Archives  >  People of the North  >  Politicians
The movers-and-shakers in territorial history served their people at a critical time, shaping policy in women’s suffrage, fisheries, transportation, and land use. Visits from national-level politicians were cause to celebrate.

Andrew Nerland, 1870-1956 (2 pages)
Andrew Nerland was an entrepreneur, ever ready for adventure and gifted with good business sense.

Dora M. Sweeney, 1907-2001 (2 pages)
Dora M. Sweeney was one of six women among the 55 delegates to the Alaska Constitutional Convention.

Governor John F.A. Strong - Governor of the Territory of Alaska, 1913-1918 (2 pages)
John Franklin Alexander Strong was appointed Alaska's territorial governor in 1913, but was dismissed when a well-kept secret surfaced.

Ernest Gruening, "Father of Alaska Statehood" (2 pages)
Ernest Gruening was a man who wore many hats in his lifetime: from WWI soldier to physician to journalist.

Warren G. Harding (2 pages)
On June 20, 1923, President Harding and the First Lady (Florence Kling Harding) embarked on a speaking tour through the West and into Alaska.

William H. Seward, 1801-1872 (2 pages)
William H. Seward was commissioned as U.S. Secretary of State on March 5, 1861, and served under two presidents: Abraham Lincoln and Andrew Johnson.

  Contact Us       LitSite Alaska, Copyright © 2000 - 2024. All rights reserved. UAA / University of Alaska Anchorage.
University of Alaska Anchorage