Logo Top Banner
slogan Alaska Timeline Alaska Kids About
Peer Work
Family & Community
History & Culture
Digital Archives
Narrative & Healing
Reading & Writing
Reading Out Loud

Love of Reading

Inspiring Readers

Featured Writers

Creative Contests

Postcard Contest

Creative Writing Contest

Pencils Full of Stars

Letters About Literature

Poetry Out Loud

Pass The Word

Libraries & Booksellers
Teaching & Learning
Contact Us

  Search Litsite Alaska
Find us on Facebook

reading and writing

Home  >  Reading and Writing  >  Creative Contests  >  Creative Writing Contest
21st Annual Creative Writing Contest, 2002
Page 1 of 3   Next ยป

Winner: Amy Meissner , Anchorage, "Forgiving Eva "

Judges: George Bryson, Kathleen McCoy, Ronald Spatz

Editor's Choice

Winner: Vic Van Ballenberghe , Anchorage, "Death of a Warrior "

Open to the Public


Winner: M.R. Katzke, Anchorage, "Fish Story"
Second Place: Young Chung, Anchorage, "A Certain Cremation"
Third Place: Stefan Marti, Anchorage, "A Crack in the Wall"
Honorable Mention: Paul Brynner, Anchorage, "In-Service"

Judges: Kathleen McCoy, Robert Clark, Richard Chiappone


Winner: Vic Van Ballenberghe, Anchorage, "Death of a Warrior"
Second Place: C. Henry Garber Slaught, Anchorage, "The Ravens"
Third Place: Peter Law, Anchorage, "The Accidental Alaskan"
Honorable Mention: David Abrams, Ft. Richardson, "God/doG"; Sydney Baranov-Kaderman, Anchorage, "Borderline"; Victoria Steik, Kenai, "Beach Medicine"; Kevin Miller, Anchorage, "The Traditional Way"

Judges: Cinthia Ritchie, Mike Doogan, Rosanne Pagano, Jo-Ann Mapson


Winner: Charlie Ess, Wasilla, "Night Net"
Second Place: Mary Langham, Talkeetna, "You Tell Them"
Third Place: Sandra Yi, Anchorage, "Food for Thought"
Honorable Mentions: Steve Baliko, Anchorage, "Two Days After Solstice"; Mary Langham, Talkeetna, "All She Has Outlived"; Stephanie Timmerman, Anchorage, "Sky"

Judges: Jim Kentch, Michael Catoggio, Paula MaCaron



Winner: Amy Meissner, Anchorage, "Forgiving Eva"
Second Place: Ernestine Hayes, Juneau, "Arizona Spyder"
Third Place: Jennifer Massey, Eagle River, "The Angels Dance"

Judges: Jim Macknicki, Joann Congdon


Winner: Jeff Apple Benowitz, Fairbanks, "Head Hunting"
Second Place: Pat O'Hara, Anchorage, "Tricia Nixon, Where are You?"
Third Place: Randy McNair, Wasilla, "The Substitute Bunny Boot Man"
Honorable Mention: Chris Kennedy, Anchorage, "Sex and the Second Coming"; Sherry Eckrich, Anchorage, "Eating Off the Land"

Judges: Warren Rhodes, Frank Gerjevic


Winner: Deidre McMullin, Fairbanks, "The Cruelty of Children"
Second Place: Michele Delange, Anchorage, "Think Outside the Box-and Other Advice Heard on Oprah"
Third Place: Danielle Wisdom, Eagle River, "Loyalty"

Judges: Michelle Horn, Jackie Carr

Grades 10-12


Winner: Rachel Mannheimer, Anchorage, "The Cat"
Second Place: Nitesh Srivastava, Eagle River, "Insert Title Here"
Third Place: Dan Wilson, Anchorage, "An Imagination's Figment and a Figment's Imagination"
Honorable Mentions: Woody Litman, Sitka, "Trip to Portsville"; Hailey Heinz, Eagle River, "Waiting Room"; Galen Britton, Anchorage, "Kit Moon: The Sorcerer and the Jewel"; Preston Wendt, Kenai, "Trespan, War Chief"; Benjamin Logsdon, Palmer, "The Oak by the River"

Judges: Rose Cox, Kathleen Macknicki


Winner: William D. L. Elliott, Wasilla, "In My Hands"
Second Place: Lauren Froeschle, Anchorage, "Blanket"
Third Place: Lindsey Meyn, Anchorage, "Writing"
Honorable Mention: Scott Morrison, Anchorage, "The Tale of the Gun-Toting Moose"; Dan Wilson, Anchorage, "An Inquiry Into Society, Causality and the Effects of Sleep Deprivation"; Hailey Heinz, Eagle River, "A Girl Named Summer"; Teri-Ann Thompson, Anchorage, "McHugh Creek"; Cynthia Chavez, Anchorage, "A World War II Story"; Tamra S. Kornfield, Anchorage, "My Mean Green Freedom Machine"; Briana Sullivan, Chugiak, "Untitled"

Judges: Kathy Bonney, Sarana Schell


Winner: William D.L.Elliott, Wasilla, "Glory"
Second Place: Lauren Froeschle, Anchorage, "Thelma and Her Mango Lemonade"
Third Place: Miranda Snyder, Anchorage, "A Thunderstorm"
Honorable Mentions: Irene Ahgupuk, Shishmaref, "The Ocean"; Shayla Renae Compton, Anchorage, "Ode to Music"; Bradley Treuer, Anchorage, "A Pair of Old Hands"; Krystal S. Wright, Anchorage, "My Old Coat"; Tania H. Deisher, Eagle River, "The Analyst"; Ellen Bauer, Homer, "Everyday Angels"; Patrick Day Minor, Anchorage, "True Love"

Judges: Zaz Hollander, Dave Manning

Grades 7-9


Winner: Jessica Reed, Anchorage, "My Life On Paper"
Second Place: Leyna Rynearson, Anchorage, "The Hitchcock Scream"
Third Place: Mason Venhaus, Chugiak, "Escape From the Coliseum"
Honorable Mentions: Ian Jacobs, Anchorage, "The Shades Between"; Bethany Brimberry, Eagle River, "Beautiful Day"

Judges: Leon Unruh, Jane Szabo, Mark Weber


Winner: Matt Smith, Chugach, "Sijo"
Second Place: Kari Odden, McGrath, "Good Ol' #21"
Third Place: Laura Dixon, Anchorage, "Inside the Life of Laura Dixon"
Honorable Mention: Joseph Person, Chugiak, "Midnight on the Muskeg"

Judges: Lynn Hallquist, Pam Cravez


Winner: Hannah Hamler, Talkeetna, "Dishwater Weddings and Shattered Glass Slippers"
Second Place: Katy Trefry, Anchorage, "The Good Doctor"
Third Place: Alex Makar, Wasilla, "Fishin' in Alaska"
Honorable Mentions: Chelsea Selton, Shishmaref, "The Minnow"; Hannah Hamler, Talkeetna, "Lily's Theater"; Hannah Hamler, Talkeetna, "Inventory"

Judges: Heather Villars, Pat Kennish

Grades 4-6


Winner: Meghan Bill, Palmer, "How Okapi Got Her Coat"
Second Place: Mason Wick, Palmer, "Baseball Life"
Third Place: Sasha Watsjold, Eagle River, "A Raven Tale"
Honorable Mention: Jessica Barry, Anchorage, "Puppy At Heart"

Judges: Andrea Story, Kathy Johnson, Domonique Calhoun, Kathy Dumas


Winner: Steph Tougas, Anchorage, "The Story of Rosa Parks"
Second Place: Madison Moss, Palmer, "My Major Miner Teacher"
Third Place: Lyndsey Haas, Wasilla, "What Does Jackie Purcell Use to Forecast the Weather?"

Judges: Jan O'Meara, Sara Juday


Winner: Kirsten Adams, Anchorage, "The Ghost of Finn McDonald"
Second Place: Cooper Curtis, Talkeetna, "Some People"
Third Place: Emily McLaughlin, Anchorage, "The Rose"
Honorable Mentions: Adrian Young, Wasilla, "Clouds"; Anthony Jensen, Palmer, "Go-Cart Race"; Melissa Joe, Anchorage, "Lightning"; Isaac Gomez, Anchorage, "Personification"; Rosika Nees, Anchorage, "Alaska"; Meghan Bill, Palmer, "Spring"; Sarah Spring, Anchorage, "Redwood Tree"

Judges: Carolyn Grabowski, Beverly Fonnesbeck, Mille Spezialy

Grades 3 and Under


Winner: Anna Evenstad, Eagle River, "Princess Aurora's Adventure"
Second Place: Colton M. Kuper, Anchorage, "I Wish I Was Athletic"
Third Place: Simon Kiehl, Anchorage, "Adventures in the Unknown"
Honorable Mentions: Esther Glasionov, Anchorage, "Snowdrift and the Hunt"; Tara McClusky, Anchorage, "Helping Out At Home"; Maia C. Rardon, Anchorage, "My Bad Job"

Judges: Katie Pesznecker, Lou Ann Hennig, Jola Morris


Winner: Jordan Jenkins, Anchorage, "Buddy Saves the Day"
Second Place: Alexander Schumann, Anchorage, "Light the Fire Within"
Third Place: Nathaniel Knapp, Anchorage, "The New Territory"
Honorable Mentions: Shane Hautanen, Anchorage, "Commercial Fishing"; Hazel Peralta, Elmendorf Air Force Base, "Our Flag"; Joy Hurlburt, Anchorage, "Untitled"

Judges: Dawn Plescher, Elbertha Anker


Winner: Sonya Kostareva, Anchorage, "Spring"
Second Place: Paige Hinton, Eagle River, "My Traveling Friend"
Third Place: Nathan Saxby, Anchorage, "Darkness Hunts Me"
Honorable Mention: Kainoa Kitagawa, Anchorage, "Haiku Street"

Judges: Mary Silverman, Lisa Demer, Erin Spooner

Next page:   Amy Meissner - 2002 Grand Prize winner Pages:  1 2  3 

  Contact Us       LitSite Alaska, Copyright © 2000 - 2023. All rights reserved. UAA / University of Alaska Anchorage.
University of Alaska Anchorage