Logo Top Banner
slogan Alaska Timeline Alaska Kids About
Peer Work
Family & Community
History & Culture
Digital Archives
Narrative & Healing
Reading & Writing
Reading Out Loud

Love of Reading

Inspiring Readers

Featured Writers

Creative Contests

Postcard Contest

Creative Writing Contest

Pencils Full of Stars

Letters About Literature

Poetry Out Loud

Pass The Word

Libraries & Booksellers
Teaching & Learning
Contact Us

  Search Litsite Alaska
Find us on Facebook

reading and writing

Home  >  Reading and Writing  >  Creative Contests  >  Creative Writing Contest
19th Annual Creative Writing Contest, 2000
Page 1 of 2   Next ยป

Winner: Jeanne Bereiter, Anchorage, "Anatomy Lab ."

Editor's Choice

Winner: Julie Drake, Anchorage, "Left Behind ."

Open to the Public


Winner: Goldman Miller, Valdez, "Rabbit."

Honorable Mention: David Abrams, Fort Richardson, "My Father's Heart"; Kimberley Smith Brady, Anchorage, "Moving Up"; Dawn Brunke, Wasilla, "To Catch a Ghost"; Bill Miles, Anchorage, "The Chair Where Sal Died."

Judges: Richard Chiappone, Robert Clark, Joann Congdon, Megan Rust.


Winner: David Abrams, Fort Richardson, "How the Soul Leaves the Body."

Honorable Mention: Mark Muro, Anchorage, "Vacation"; David Kiffer, Ketchikan, "Aides to Navigation"; Jack Campbell, Aniak, "Flatfish"; David Abrams, Fort Richardson, "On Becoming a Jesuit."

Judges: Arlitia Jones, Tom Sexton, Melissa Green, Laurie Evans-Dineen.


Winner: Jeanne Bereiter, Anchorage, "Anatomy Lab."

Honorable Mention: Georgiana Moses, Eagle River, "Food for the Qaygiq -- 1960s."

Judges: Kathleen McCoy, Mike Carey, Mike Doogan



Winner: Martha Panschar, Anchorage (UAA), "Rara Avis."

Honorable Mention: Julie Drake, Anchorage (UAA), "Girls in the Corn"; Clayton Hillhouse, Soldotna (Kenai Peninsula College), "The Peanut Butter Kid."

Judges: Sarah Birdsall, Doug O'Harra.


Winner: Joan Kane, Anchorage (Harvard College), "Pure/Pour/A Priori."

Honorable Mention: Brooke Schafer, Sitka (Westminster College), "Leopold, to Father"; Joan Kane, "Anchorage (Harvard College), "Transparency"; Jill Osier, Fairbanks (UAF), "Infidelity, or If You Thought the River Blessed You."

Judges: Michael Catoggio, Greg Lottridge.


Winner: Julie Drake, Anchorage (UAA), "Left Behind."

Honorable Mention: Mara Cramer, Tok (Kalamazoo College), "A Morning Walk"; Allen Janz, Anchorage (UAA), "Thanksgiving on the Road"; William Edwards, Anchorage (UAA), "Love Letter to America."

Judges: Frank Gerjevic, Heather Lende.

Grades 10-12


Winner: Coire Langham, Talkeetna (Su Valley High), "Home Gringo Home."

Honorable Mention: Magdi Jacobs, Anchorage (Steller Secondary), "Fire"; Mercedes Piedra, (Mt. Edgecumbe), "Chicken of the Sea"; Anastasia Connolly, Craig (Craig High), "Writer's Block."

Judges: Mark Dudick, Mike Dunham.


Winner: Kristoffer Saebo, Anchorage (Interlochen Center for the Arts), "Sinking Frogs."

Honorable Mention: Clare Baldwin, Wasilla (Colony High), "An Assignment in the Sahara, Summer, 1964"; Erin Flynn, Anchorage (Dimond High), "Of My Father."

Judges: Peter Porco, Susan Morgan, Sonya Senkowsky, Wesley Loy


Winner: Erin Flynn, Anchorage (Dimond High), "Radioactivity."

Honorable Mention: Lauren Froeschle, Anchorage (East High), "Veggie"; Erin Flynn, Anchorage (Dimond High), "Constellations."

Judges: Terry Carr, Warren Rhodes

Grades 7-9


Winner: Marie Stoner, Wasilla (Colony High), "Master Coach Inn."

Honorable Mention: Ashley Gravelle, Kenai (Alaska Star Academy), "Statue of Beauty"; Nicole Beier, Homer (Homer Middle School), "Home."

Judges: Melissa DeVaughn, Mark Dent, Ben Spiess, Rose Shinohara, Donna Freedman


Winner: : Maile Bruns, Anchorage (East High), "Goddess of the Floor."

Honorable Mention: Terri Anderson, Anchorage (Dimond High), "An Evening to Remember."

Judges: Shari Douglas, Patricia Kennish, Vicki Radonich.


Winner: : Moira Sullivan, Anchorage (West High), "First Love."

Honorable Mention: Woody Litman, Sitka (Sitka High), "Victory"; Christina Indahl, Anchorage (Dimond High), "Scars"; Jonathon Stralka, Anchorage (Dimond High), "Swift and Silent."

Judges: Liz Ruskin, Doyle Woody, Elizabeth Manning

Grades 4-6


Winner: Will Kornmuller, Willow (Willow Elementary), "Swimmer the Salmon."

Honorable Mention:Savanna Bradley, Homer (West Homer Elementary), "The Leader"; Marie Dorris, Kalskag (Joseph & Olinga Gregory School), "Why the Fox is Orange"; Kaitlin Simenson, Eagle River (Homestead Elementary), "Goodbye, Missouri"; Molly Colleen McIssac, Soldotna (home school), "A Ride Through the Woods"; Rochelle Jackson, Anchorage (Bowman Elementary), "Coretta Boyd."

Judges: Karen Aho, Paula Dobbyn, Molly Brown, Cathy Janvrin, Rose Cox.


Winner: : Raelena Smith, Mekkoryuk (Mekoryuk School), "In My Dream."

Honorable Mention: Tryston Rachelle Laseter, Palmer (Pioneer Peak Elementary), "Rain Is Falling"; Marvin Evan, Kalskag (Joseph & Olinga Gregory School), "Space Jam"; Meghan Bill, Palmer (Pioneer Peak Elementary), "Silence"; Kimberly Alcorn, Anchorage (Kincaid Elementary), "Jimmy's Frog."

Judges: Bethany Dekay, Erik Hill, Gene Gilbert, Julia O'Malley


Winner: David Hansen, Anchorage (Chugach Optional), "A Usual Hike in Alaska."

Honorable Mention: Ida Nicolai, Kalskag (Joseph & Olinga Gregory School), "Fish Camp"; Chad Morgan and Arnold Peteroff, Kalskag (Joseph & Olinga Gregory School), " True Moose Tale"; Hannah Harrison, Homer (West Homer Elementary), "The Angel"; Michelle Craig, Anchor Point (Chapman Elementary), "The Kenai Lake."

Judges: Leon Unruh, Lisa Demer

Grades 3-Under


Winner: Christeena Solomon, Wasilla (Tanaina Elementary), "Blue Juice."

Honorable Mentions: Isaac Sanger, Anchorage (Village Charter School), "My Little Sister"; Andrea Chaudhary, Ketchikan (Valley Park Elementary), "The Fog."

Judges: Peter Dunlap-Shohl, Martha Upicksoun.


Winner: Christina Knapp, Anchorage (Chugach Optional), "My Blanket."

Honorable Mention: Randi Collins, Chugiak (IDEA School), "Flag Poem"; Caroline Norton, Fort Richardson (Village Charter School), "Caroline the Ladybug"; Bailey Webb, Ketchikan (Valley Park Elementary), "Dreaming"; Megan Webb, Anchorage (Northern Lights ABC), "Ribbon."

Judges: Kim Holm, Jola Morris, Lacey Morris.


Winner: Molly Graves, Kenai (Sears Elementary), "From the Tail of a Skunk."

Honorable Mention: Nicki Jordan, Anchorage (home school), "My Sister Is Always on the Internet"; Stephen Simeon, Aniak (Auntie Mary Nicoli Elementary), "When I Caught My First Caribou."

Judges: Asta Corley, George Bryson

Grand Prize Judges: Kathleen McCoy, Ronald Spatz, George Bryson

Next page:   About Jeanne Bereiter - 2000 Grand Prize Winner Pages:  1 2 

  Contact Us       LitSite Alaska, Copyright © 2000 - 2023. All rights reserved. UAA / University of Alaska Anchorage.
University of Alaska Anchorage