Logo Top Banner
slogan Alaska Timeline Alaska Kids About
Peer Work
Family & Community
History & Culture
Digital Archives
Narrative & Healing
Reading & Writing
Reading Out Loud

Love of Reading

Inspiring Readers

Featured Writers

Creative Contests

Postcard Contest

Creative Writing Contest

Pencils Full of Stars

Letters About Literature

Poetry Out Loud

Pass The Word

Libraries & Booksellers
Teaching & Learning
Contact Us

  Search Litsite Alaska
Find us on Facebook

reading and writing

Home  >  Reading and Writing  >  Creative Contests  >  Creative Writing Contest
18th Annual Creative Writing Contest, 1999
Page 1 of 2   Next ยป

Winner: Susan Alexander Dererra , Anchorage, 'Vow .'

Editor's Choice

Winner: Cinthia Ritchie, Anchorage, 'Merry Me .'

Open to the Public


Winner: Mark Stafford, Anchorage, 'Messenger.'

Honorable Mention: Joyce Bamberger, Anchorage, 'Chapter 1'; Dawn Baumann Brunke, Wasilla, 'When Sam and Nina Won the Lottery'; Lucy Collins, Anchorage, 'Jackson's Story'; Mary Alice Cook, Eagle River, 'A Pair of Queens'; Marlene Elrod, Anchorage, 'Legendary Day'; Jackie Sparrow, Anchorage, 'White Women.'

Judges: Richard Chiappone, Joann Congdon, Nancy Lord, Megan Rust.


Winner: Deborah Tobola, Anchorage, 'Persephone Comes Home.'

Honorable Mention: Sharon Ann Jaeger, Anchorage, 'Lookout at Giant Mountain'; Page Isom, Anchorage, 'Shoo Fly'; Georgiana Doyle, Anchorage, 'Cutting Fish with Grandma and Mom'; Julie Drake, Anchorage, 'Cathedral.'

Judges: Laurie Evans-Dinneen, Melissa Green, Arlitia Jones, Tom Sexton.


Winner: Jeff Benowitz, Fairbanks, 'Dead Man's Stuff.'

Honorable Mention: Nancy Wrocklage, Anchorage, 'Baby Bird'; Jeff Benowitz, Fairbanks, 'The Way'; Lynn Hallquist, Anchorage, 'A New Term Up Close.'

Judges: Debbie McKinney, Mike Dunham, Larry Campbell, Michael Cardenaz.



Winner: Cinthia Ritchie, Anchorage (UAA), 'Merry Me.'

Honorable Mention: Luke Donkersloot, Naknek (University of Montana, Missoula), 'Walking the Line'; Marilyn Wheeless, Kenai (Kenai Peninsula College), 'Mail Order Bride'; Meng Xiao, Anchorage (UAA), 'Grandfather's Garden'; Stacy Lynn Smith, Eagle River (UAA), 'Moon Dog.'

Judges: Sarah Birdsall, Doug O'Harra.


Winner: Susan Alexander Dererra, Anchorage (UAA), 'Vow.'

Honorable Mention: Dawn Reeder, Anchorage (UAA), 'When You Were A Little Girl'; Julie Rae McElroy-Brown, Anchorage (UAA), 'Sea Lion'; Teresa Sundmark, Homer (UAA, Kachemak Bay campus), 'Uncle Carl'; Abigail Freedman, Anchorage (University of Washington), 'Post-ICU'; Susan Alexander Dererra, Anchorage (UAA), 'The Three-Year-Old Prepares for Bed'; Dawn Reeder, Anchorage (UAA), 'A Chat With the Bachelor Next Door.'

Judges: George Bryson, Michael Catoggio, Kathleen McCoy.


Winner: Judith Lindenfelser, Chugiak (UAA), 'Visitations.'

Honorable Mention: Luke Donkersloot, Naknek (University of Montana, Missoula), 'Graveyard Life'; Dawn Reeder, Anchorage (UAA), 'Report: Swimmer Under Ice.'

Judges: Frank Gerjevic, Heather Lende.

Grades 10-12


Winner: Sarah Teel, Chugiak (homeschool, IDEA program), 'A Fine Place to Live.'

Honorable Mention: James Ayers, Anchorage (Holy Rosary Academy), 'A Picture of Eloquence'; Elliott Peterson, Anchorage (Dimond High School), 'Reflections'; Rim Jae Lee, Anchorage (East High School), 'Tomi's Wife.'

Judges: Mark Dudick, Donna Freedman.


Winner: Clare Baldwin, Wasilla (Colony High School), 'Sophie.'

Honorable Mention: Rim Jae Lee, Anchorage (East High School), 'Buddhist Dance.'

Judges: Barbara Brown, Michael Catoggio, Sandy Harper, Martin Palmer.


Winner: Chad Harpel, Eagle River (Chugiak High School), 'Championship?'

Honorable Mention: Courtney Duffin, Anchorage (West High School), 'The Exclusionary Rule'; Vanessa Westdahl, Anchorage (Dimond High), 'My Life.'

Judges: Mike Carey, Natalie Phillips.

Grades 7-9


Winner: Brandon McElroy, Anchorage (Goldenview Middle School), 'Smoke and Mirrors.'

Honorable Mention: Andrea Bartel, Eagle River (Gruening Middle School), 'Untitled'; Lindsey Heiserman, Wasilla (Colony Middle School), 'Fiction Story'; Cheyenne Brown, Girdwood (Dimond High School), 'A Calling of Dragons'; Natalie Beach, Palmer (Colony Middle School), 'A Father's Return.'

Judges: Melissa DeVaughn, Sandi Gerjevic, Don Hunter, Susan Morgan, Peter Porco.


Winner: Ellen Bauer,Homer (Magpie Academy), 'Hiding in the Mask.'

Honorable Mention: Jamie Moser, Anchorage (Dimond High), 'Yellow'; Susannah Howard, Talkeetna (Su-Valley High School), 'A General Summary of Eighth Grade'; Alice Hurn, Anchorage (Romig Middle School), 'Golden Leaves'; Ella Francione, Anchorage (East High School), 'No Pain, No Glory';

Judges: Shari Douglas, Patricia Kennish, Vicki Radonich.


Winner: Magdi Jacobs, Anchorage (Steller Secondary School), 'My Grandmother.'

Honorable Mention: Sienna Houtte, Palmer (Palmer High School), 'The Beach'; William Elliott, Wasilla (Wasilla High School), 'Why I Write'; Jennifer Shine, Anchorage (Dimond High School), 'Why Now?'

Judges: Mark Dent, T.C. Mitchell, Rosemary Shinohara.

Grades 4-6


Winner: Rachel Beatty, Sterling (Sterling Elementary School), 'Animal Girl.'

Honorable Mention: Morgana Willis, Anchorage (Lake Otis Elementary School), 'The Tree and Sherlock'; Kate Monfore, Eagle River (Eagle River Elementary School), 'The Night I Followed Weaver'; Samantha Huf, Kenai (Mountain View Elementary School), 'Why the Wolf Howls at the Moon'; Elizabeth Dyment, Sterling (Sterling Elementary School), 'A New Beginning'; Amanda Creiglow, Anchorage (Polaris K-12 School), 'Why?'

Judges: Jake Arnold, Cathy Carpenter, Elizabeth Manning, Warren Rhodes.


Winner: Jordan O'Connell, Eagle River (Rogers Park Elementary), 'The River is a Road.'

Honorable Mention: Sarah Woerman, Anchorage (Kasuun Elementary School), 'Silent Is the Wood'; Greg Mete Jr., Kodiak (Peterson Elementary School), 'Who Am I?'

Judges: Lynn Childs, Debbie Cutler, Jennifer Summers.


Winner: Hannah VanHoose, Eagle River (Homestead Elementary School), 'Death.'

Honorable Mention: Brittany Osland, Soldotna (Redoubt Elementary School), 'My Best Dog'; Wyatt Dupps, Willow (Willow Elementary School), 'The Lost Loon Chick'; Robert Stein, Sitka (Verstovia Elementary School), 'The Julie Hughes Triathalon'; Whitney Rysdyk, Soldotna (Redoubt Elementary School), 'The Thirsty Moose.'

Judges: Karen Aho, Lisa Demer.

Grades 3-Under


Winner: Maggie Rose McGuire, Anchorage (Inlet View Elementary School), 'The Witch's Cat.'

Honorable Mentions: Eli Schoenberg, Anchorage (Bowman Elementary School), 'How the Walrus Got His Tusks'; Meghan Bill, Palmer (Academy Charter School), 'The Winter Swan.'

Judges: Peter Dunlap-Shohl, Martha Upicksoun, Linda Sievers.


Winner: Kellen MacFadyen, Anchorage (Bowman Elementary School), 'Me Myself and I.'

Honorable Mention: Nine students (class poem), Gateway School for Dyslexic Children, Anchorage, 'Old Narnia'; Katelyn Duncan, Anchorage (Rogers Park Elementary School), 'Aurora Borealis'; Rachel Markwood, Anchorage (Gladys Wood Elementary School), 'In the Snow of Alaska'; Khristina Knapp, Anchorage (Chugach Optional School), 'Raven.'

Judges: Kim Holm, Jola Morris, Lacey Morris.


Winner: Joshua Partridge, Soldotna (Soldotna Elementary School), 'My Favorite Place.'

Honorable Mention: Lucas Sarwas, Anchorage (Chugach Optional School), 'The Day We Went to Mexico'; Toni Smith, Palmer (homeschool, CyberLynx program), 'Katie, My Sister'; Kyle Mead, Soldotna (K-Beach Elementary School), 'On My Way to Oregon.'

Judges: Molly Brown, Gene Gilbert.

Grand Prize Judges: George Bryson, Gretchen Legler, Kathleen McCoy, Ron Spatz.

Next page:   Susan Alexander Derrera - 1999 Grand Prize winner Pages:  1 2 

  Contact Us       LitSite Alaska, Copyright © 2000 - 2023. All rights reserved. UAA / University of Alaska Anchorage.
University of Alaska Anchorage