LitSite Home

Return to:   The Road to Statehood - Alaska's governor, Mike Stepovich, and congressional advocates for statehood for the northern territory were jubilant after Senate passage of the Alaskan statehood bill.
 previous Gallery Thumbnails  next
Governor B. Heintzleman signing bill

Title taken from caption in back. "March 21, 1955. Governor B. Heintzleman signing bill authorizing a statehood convention to be held November 8, 1955 at the University of Alaska, College, Alaska. Right to left: Repr. Tom Stewart, Juneau; Senator John Butrovich, Fairbanks; Senator Earl Cooper, Anchorage; House Speaker, Wendell Kay, Anchorage; Senate President, James Nolan, Wrangell; House Minority leader, Joseph McLean, Juneau. Photo by Joseph W. Alexander Juneau, Alaska."

For more information about this image click here.

  Contact Us       LitSite Alaska, Copyright © 2000 - 2019. All rights reserved. University of Alaska Anchorage.
University of Alaska Anchorage