LitSite Home

Return to:   The Road to Statehood - Alaska's governor, Mike Stepovich, and congressional advocates for statehood for the northern territory were jubilant after Senate passage of the Alaskan statehood bill.
 previous Gallery Thumbnails  next
President Eisenhower signs a document

President Dwight D. Eisenhower, probably signing the Alaska Statehood (seated center), with Vice-president Richard M. Nixon (seated left) and the Alaska delegation behind. Alaska delegation includes, left to right, Ralph Rivers, Ernest Gruening and Bob Bartlett.

For more information about this image click here.

  Contact Us       LitSite Alaska, Copyright © 2000 - 2019. All rights reserved. University of Alaska Anchorage.
University of Alaska Anchorage